Sacramento Mineral Society Gem Show Review   2 comments

Hello rock-heads, and happy 11.11.11….

Today I attended and worked at the first day of the 75th Annual Gem Show for the Sacramento Mineral Society.   As in previous years, it is being held at the Scottish Rite Center at 6151 “H” St., Sacramento, CA (very near CSUS aka Sac State).

The show boasts dealers of slabs, specimens, beads and jewelery making supplies (findings).  The club also provides the ever-popular prize wheel for juniors, geode cutting, hourly and daily raffles, a grand prize raffle, educational materials and a silent auction.  The auction raises funds for an annual scholarship for a CSUS student majoring in Geology or Earth Science.  I worked this table, helping Joy who is always a gas (I will avoid the obvious pun).  And, of course, I also made a few purchases toward this worthy cause (some of which are shown in the gallery below):

(Joy helping a customer)

(Thunderegg slice with Montana-like agate)

(Blue lace agate)

(Colorful “Onyx” i.e. calcite, not actual onyx)

Sharing the stage on which auction takes place, is the skeleton of a Siberian cave bear (approximately 50,000-70,000 years old).  It is on display courtesy of Applegate Lapidary, and is the last time this skeleton will be shown to the public.

(I will also get a side-view when I return on Sunday).

As a lapidary, I tend to visit the slab/rough dealers.  A few of the dealers carried some slabs, but it is not their primary focus.  Garth Duncan, proprietor of Gems of an Idea, however, carries slabs galore.   With at least 20 linear feet of table space, largely occupied by tubs of slabs, one can purchase an astonishing array of jaspers, agates, jade, tiger eye, rhodonite, and some mystery rocks.  Among other purchases from Garth, I was unable to resist some very unusual old-stock a slice of possible Botswana agate, a heel cut of Dryhead agate,Stone Canyon jasper in deep orange colors and a piece of tiger eye embedded in some (Graveyard Point-like plume agate):

Further scrutinizing what dealers have to offer, I succumbed to the sweet siren song of some gemmy Utah dinosaur bone (“gembone”) from Tom’s Rocks:

Of course, any gem show is incomplete without visiting the jade dealers.  We are lucky enough to have Mike and Joan Burkleo of Friends of Jade come to our show most years.  Not only do they sell suiseki, slicks and cobbles, but also carved and crafted jade items.  Of these, my favorite (and completely out of my price range) are the jade knives, displayed illuminated to show their translucence:

Perhaps one day…

Since I was working, I was unable to get photos of all the dealers.  Some I could not get due to lighting issues or not wanting to interfere with customers.  In any case, I will try again on Sunday.  These fine folks include sellers of magnificent crystal specimens, a mind-boggling array of meteorites and other fine  materials.  To finish, here are some more assorted photos I did get:

Gil Gonzalez, benitoite dealer/club member:

Joy Shopping at Garth’s booth:

Carrie helping a lucky winner at the prize wheel:

Bobbie working the raffle booth:

Floor activity:

Green River Formation fossils atApplegate lapidary (owners of the cave bear):

Well, that is all for now.  I have other plans for tomorrow, but I will be returning on Sunday.

Peace,

Stephan

2 responses to “Sacramento Mineral Society Gem Show Review

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It is a wonderful show with a great variety of premium dealers. It has been about 4 years since I visited this show and I really appreciated the layout with plenty of floor space to move about.
    The members of this club are a real pleasure to mingle with and the dealer interactions were fun and educational.
    I also am a lapidary and slab devotee. Garth Duncan is a close friend and a very gracious man with a super selection of slabs.
    I left a stack of our show flyers at the welcoming desk with the gracious approval of the members there.
    I highly reccomend this show to all fellow club members and guests
    Bob Rush – President-elect of the Mother Lode Mineral Society
    Mother Lode Mineral Society show March 10 & 11, 2012 Turlock Fairgrounds

    • Hi Bob,

      Thanks for your comment. I like the new lay-out as well.

      Thank you for leaving the flyers. I hope to make your show this coming year. In the past there have always been scheduling conflicts, but i hear that it is one of the best around.

      Do George and Carol Rasmussen still do a display of their Big Sur jade finds? I’d love to see that. I work with their daughter and hear that they do well in the jade-finding department.

      Garth is a great guy. Always friendly, and I know I’ll find something special in one of his bins.

      Stephan

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

